top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmmalee

Let the gelato heal you

Updated: May 2, 2018

Last week I found myself in a bit of a funk. There was a lot of school work to be done and I had gone almost two weeks since my my last adventure. So on Tuesday, I decided I would go to Italy for the weekend. I booked a bus and a hostel and left 2 days later. How exciting and spontaneous? The opportunities I have had since coming here are just unbelievable. I am so grateful to be on this journey.


I thought it was about time I took a solo trip. Constant socialization is part of the package when studying abroad. As much as I love the people I have met here, I value my alone time and recognized that it was time for me to get away for a minute. So, to the Coast I headed.



I have been dreaming of visiting Genoa (Genova) Italy for quite some time now. While studying Italian back in the States, I had a wonderful professor who had a lot of pride for his home region of Liguria. Genoa is a lesser known city north of Cinque Terre. It is the birth place of pesto alla Genovese, and it is the perfect place for quiet reflection.



My days in Genoa were very relaxed. I had no where to be and no expectations. I wandered the terribly confusing streets (seriously, I can't say how many flights of stairs I walked up just to immediately walk down a hill). I picnicked on the rocky shore line and soaked up some much needed sunlight.



I would describe the trip as a personal success. I made it there and home safely. I stayed on budget, and I only had to use a map once.


My only goals of the trip were to sit by the ocean, try the pesto, and clear my jumbled up head.


Mission accomplished.


How I am feeling: I am feeling well rested (which is surprising based on how much running around I did, 40 miles in 3 days. Time for new shoes). My mind is currently thinking of things other than school, but not in a flustered way. I will need to refocus a bit, but for now I'm just going to enjoy the daydream that is this life.


What's Next: I am in Innsbruck for 4 days and then I head back to Italy! This trip I will be visiting Bologna. I am very excited to get an authentic Italian experience while staying with an old friend who happens to be a Bologna native. Viva l'Italia.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page