top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmmalee

I feel Pretty

It is Frühlingsfest (Spring Fest) season in Munich. Of course we had to attend, and if we were to attend, we were going to do it in style. I purchases a dirndl and I feel like a Austrian princess in it. Usually, I dread going to Munich, but I was quite looking forward to this day trip.

What a fun event. It takes place on fair grounds in Munich. Beer tents all around. We arrived early, I read that if you didn't get there when the tents opened, you would not get a table all day. That was true. We secured a table and started our day.



I had a universal female experience, I made friend in the bathroom.

I met a local girl in the bathroom and asked her about my dress. I wanted to know her opinion on tourists wearing the traditional dress and if I was wearing it correctly/ respectfully. Here's wha I've learned; The dirndl should be worn in three parts (dress, blouse, apron) if you're not wearing all three parts, you are not respecting the culture and tradition. The ribbon on your apron can be tied in four different places, on the right if you're married, middle if you're a child, left if you're single, and on the back if you are a widow or a waitress.

She fixed my ribbon and invited us to join their table. It made for an authentic experience and I am very grateful for it.

The night ended with a ferris wheel ride and bus trip back to Innsbruck. Frühlingsfest was a success.


How I am feeling: I was feeling very very tired after Springfest. It was a 22 hour day and I was very excited to see my bed when I finally got home. As always, I am feeling so grateful to be having these experiences.


What's next: I am in Innsbruck for a bit. Rainy weather is on the radar, but I am hopeful it will pass. I start and finish a new course this week, man the schedules here are odd.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page