top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmmalee

Week 1 in Innsbruck

For starters, I love it here. It is unbearably beautiful everywhere I look. My dorm is comfortable, the city is easy to navigate, and my classes are interesting.


We had a few days to explore before school started, and explore we did! Innsbruck is the perfect combination of urban and natural beauty. We took the scenic route to city center and then later took the cable car up the mountain to go to a party, in an igloo, on top of the Austrian Alps. These are not normal experiences! This is insane!









It is easy to meet people here since there are so many international students. Everyone is trying to meet new people and everyone understands how you're feeling through this process. I have met some great people in my classes and my building. My floor has Sunday night family dinner. Each week the residents from each country take turns making dinner for everyone. This Sunday the Italians made gnocchi from scratch. AMAZING.



Classes are set up a bit different here. For example this week I have class 8 hours a day for 3 days and then I am done with the class. They are long days, don't get me wrong. However it leaves us with so much free time! Another notable thing about classes is that the tourism school is halfway up the mountain. Therefore we have to walk halfway up the mountain. Luckily is it a beautiful walk.


Re-Cap


How I am feeling: I feel great. Getting settled into a new place is a stressful process, but I just feel so at peace here. An immediate feeling of home from the minute I stepped off the train.


What I have seen and experienced: I have taken my first, of many, self guided tours. I have partied in an igloo. I have successfully gotten through my first few days of classes.


What's next: On the agenda this weekend is Vienna! Booked my bus and my hostel and I have Billy Joel's Vienna on que. I am ready to go!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page